Zika virus: What to Know, What to Do

Zika virus: What to Know, What to Do

ICID hosted an in-person and online event on February 18 to examine what is known and what is not known about the virus, and consider the implications for health professionals.

WATCH THE ARCHIVED VIDEO

SEE THE SLIDE DECK (PDF)

RELATED: LISTEN TO PODCASTS, produced by the National Collaborating Centre for Infectious Diseases (NCCID), for updated information by Dr. Philippe Lagace-Wiens of the University of Manitoba.

Event Details:

Date: Thursday, February 18, 2016
Time: 11:00 am - 12 noon CST (12:00 noon EST; 10:00 am MST; 9:00 am PST; 1:00 pm AST; 1:30 pm NST; 4:00 pm UTC)
Location: In person at Frederic Gaspard Theatre, Basic Medical Sciences Building, 727 McDermot Ave., University of Manitoba, 
Bannatyne Campus OR Via Internet Webcast

Presenter(s):

  • Dr. Joel Kettner, Medical Director, International Centre for Infectious Diseases, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba  
  • Dr. Craig Burym, Assistant Professor, Section Head - Division Maternal-Fetal Medicine, University of Manitoba, Director Manitoba Obsetrical Outreach Program  
  • Dr. Philippe Lagace-Wiens, Assistant Professor, Department of Medical Microbiology, College of Medicine, University of Manitoba
  • Dr. David Safronetz, Chief of Viral Zoonoses at the National Microbiology Laboratory, Winnipeg Canada   

Learning Goals:

  1. Become up-to-date on the most relevant public health policies, travel-related advice, and clinical guidelines regarding Zika virus.
  2. Become up-to-date on the most relevant knowledge about the biology and epidemiology of Zika virus.
  3. Understand what we know and what we don't know about the types and probabilities of serious outcomes, especially pregnancy-related, that have been associated with exposure to Zika virus.
  4. Understand what we know and what we don't know about the types and probabilities of serious outcomes, especially pregnancy-related, that have been associated with travel to places which have identified the presence of Zika virus.
  5. Appreciate the knowledge that is needed to respond appropriately (while minimizing over- or under-reaction) to this emerging infectious disease.

This event was part of the International Centre for Infectious Diseases (ICID) National Grand Rounds series for health professionals, and was presented in association with the Department of Community Health Sciences (CHS) Bold Ideas Colloquium Series at the University of Manitoba.

The opinions expressed in this webinar were those of the presenters and do not necessarily reflect the views of ICID, its funders, or its partners.